Showing posts with label word. Show all posts
Showing posts with label word. Show all posts

Monday, September 8, 2008

Wordperfect Files

Dear Sassy: I have a document in Wordperfect that I would like to start editing in Word. Is this even possible? These are two entirely different programs.
~Creating a new newsletter

Dear Creating: Most certainly you can edit your Wordperfect file in Word! First, your file needs to be converted so that the Word program can read your Wordperfect file. One way to do that is to open up your file in Wordperfect. Click File > Save As and change the File Type to MS Word. Now you should be able to open your document in Word. Another way to convert your file is to install the converter. After you have installed the converter open up Word and your original document. At that time your document will be converted from Wordperfect to Word. Here is the official word from Microsoft.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

December 19, 2007

Dear Sassy: I have a question regarding email attachments. Occasionally when I open a Word or Excel document someone has attached to an email, read it, and want to close it, I get prompted about saving the changes to the document. I always choose not to save changes, even though I did not change anything. What's up with that?
~Resisting Change in River City

Dear Resisting: Ahh, chances are that something did change in the document, you just may have not had an active role in the change. Even just looking at a document can change it according to Word. Think of the different screen sizes, page layouts, print options - just viewing a document will automatically resize it to your designated specifications on your machine.

Friday, November 30, 2007

November 30, 2007

Dear Sassy: How does one start page numbering in Word with the second page (title page) as page 1? I tried sections unsuccessfully.
~ Lost in Numbering

Dear Lost: This is a great question! This is very handy to know since most people don't want their title page numbered. Open up your Word document, click on View> Header and Footer. This should open up a new toolbar and a dashed line box. Here you can insert page numbers, authors name and date. Hover over each icon and it will identify itself. There is an icon that looks like a page turning in a book - it is the Page Setup icon. Click on it. Click on the Layout tab and locate the Headers and Footers section. Place a check mark next to Different First Page. And click Ok to close the window.

Refer back to the hovering Header and Footer toolbar. The third little icon that looks like a hand holding a # will allow you to Format the page number. Click on this icon. For Page Numbering select to Start at 0. Next click on the # icon to Insert Page Number. This should start with the number 1 on the page following the title page.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

November 15, 2007

Dear Sassy: I am working on a multi-paged document in Word. Seems like before I could scroll vertically but I don't have that option anymore. How can I get my scroll back?
~Bringing Scroll Back

Dear Bringing: Very timely question as Sassy had this problem too. Open up your Word document. Click on Tools > Options and the View tab. About 2/3rds of the way down you should see a Print and Web Layout Options. Make sure there is a check mark next to the Vertical Ruler. However, did you notice that "Print View only" notation next to the Vertical Ruler? To verify that you are in Print View click on View and then Print Layout. This should turn on your scroll bar.

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

November 7, 2007

Dear Sassy: When I open a WORD attachment in my email it shows up in the Reading Layout and I want it to show up in Normal or Print format. I find the Reading format bothersome. I looked at both the Options in Email and Word and can't find why this is defaulting to the Reading Layout. Can you tell me how to fix this????
~No Reading (Layout) for Me Librarian

Dear No Reading: This is a very good question. In fact Sassy's Word documents have been defaulting to the Reading Layout for sometime... and Sassy finds the Reading Layout bothersome as well! So thank you for the question! Open up your Word document through your email just like you have been. This Word document should still be in Reading Layout. In Word click on Tools > Options > General. At the top of this window you should see the option to "Allow starting in Reading Layout" - uncheck this option and OK out of the window. Close your Word document and open it again through your email. It should now open in the Normal format.

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

April 18, 2007

Dear Sassy: I have to tell you I L-O-V-E your blog! I’ve got a real puzzler for you this time. I recently completed a project, and would like to gather all the various information on the project, including emails I have placed in personal folders, word documents, spreadsheets, etc. together in to one folder. Can you advise me on the best way to accomplish this? Where would you locate such a folder?
~ Ready to fold in Forbing

Dear Forbing:
Excellent question! This question caused Sassy to test a few things before answering. Sassy would L-O-V-E to assist you in organizing your files. First, you need to know where you are saving your files (word documents, excel spreadsheets), most times these files are saved in the generic My Documents (or My Files) folder. If you don't know how to tell where your files are being saved - open up the file, and click Save As. This will open up a new window in which you can determine where the file is being saved.

Let's create a new folder in My Documents and place all the related files into that folder.

Here are the steps: Open My Documents.
<If you are unsure how to get to My Documents: Right click on Start, (left) click on Explore. This will open up a new window. You should see a folder called My Documents (or whatever folder you save your documents to) on the left hand side.> Here you can right click within this window and click New and click Folder. Name the folder appropriately. Within this window you should be able to drag and drop your related files.

Now to get the emails to this newly created folder... Sassy hopes that you already have a personal folder set up with the emails that you want to put in this folder. Click on the personal folder that you want to incorporate into your folder in My Documents. You will want to Select All (CTRL A) and Copy (CTRL C) the emails. Once you have the emails copied then you will open your folder in My Documents and Paste (CTRL V). If your emails are spread throughout your Outlook, you will need to individually copy and paste the emails into this folder.

Whew, Sassy thinks this was the longest post ever. Sassy needs to go home early...